Skip to main content


Leymus was first described by Hochstetter in 1848 who included in it L. arenarius. It was first expanded to include many of the rhizomatous species previously included in Elymus; it has since been expanded to include both cespitose and rhizomatous species. All the species are polyploids with two different genomes. One is the Ns genome; the identity of the other(s) is not clear. \Fir a synopsis of the genus, see Yen et al. doi 10.1111/j.1759-6831.2009.00004.x. For RAPD analysis, see Yang et al. 2008 Biologica plantarum 52(2):237-241. For phylogenetic analysis, see Sha et al. (2008)10.1007/s10528-008-9175-5

. Species . 2n
1 Leymus aemulans (Nevski) Tzvelev    
2 Leymus ajanensis    
3 Leymus akmolinensis (Drob.) Tzvelev    
4 Leymus altus D.F. Cui    
5 Leymus ambiguus    
6 Leymus angustus (Trin.) Pilger    
7 Leymus arenarius (L.) Hochst.   56
8 Leymus arjinshanicus D.F. Cui    
9 Leymus aristiglumis L.B. Cai    
10 Leymus buriaticus Peschkova    
11 Leymus californicus    
12 Leymus chakassicus Peschkova    
13 Leymus chinensis (Trin.) Tzvelev    
14 Leymus cinereus    
15 Leymus condensatus    
16 Leymus cassiusculus L.B. Cai    
17 Leymus dasystachys (Trin.) Pilger    
18 Leymus erianthus (Phil.) Dubcovsky    
19 Leymus flavescens    
20 Leymus flexus L.B. Cai    
21 Leymus innovatus    
22 Leymus interior (Hulten) Tzvelev    
23 Leymus jenisseiemis(Turcz.) Tzvelev    
24 Leymus karelinii (Turcz) Tzelev   56
25 Leymus littoralis (Griseb.) Peschkova    
26 Leymus mollis   48
  Leymus ×multiflorus    
27 Leymus multicaulis (Kar. & Kir. ) Tzvelev    
28 Leymus ordensis Peschkova    
29 Leymus ovatus (Trin.) Tzvelev    
30 Leymus ovipodus L.B. Cai    
31 Leymus paboanus (Claus) Pilger    
32 Leymus pacificus    
33 Leymus pendulus L.B. Cai    
34 Leymus pishanicus S.L. Lu & Y.H. Wu    
35 Leymus pseudoracemosus C. Yen & J.L. Yang    
36 Leymus racemosus (Lam.) Tzvelev    
  Leymus racemosus (Lam.) Tzvelev subsp. racemosus   28
  Leymus racemosus subsp. crassinervius (Kar. & Kir.) Tzvelev    
  Leymus racemosus subsp. klokovii Tzvelev    
  Leymus racemosus subsp. sabulosus (M. Bieb) Tzvelev   28
37 Leymus ramosus (Trin.) Tzvelev    
38 Leymus ruoqiangensis S.L. Lu & Y.H. Wu    
39 Leymus salina    
40 Leymus secalinus (Georgi) Tzvelev    
41 Leymus shanxiensis G. Zhu & S.L. Chen    
42 Leymus simplex    
43 Leymus spacelatus Peschkova    
44 Leymus triticoides    
45 Leymus tuvinicus Peschlova    
  Leymus ×vancouverensis    
46 Leymus villosissimus (Scribn.) Tzvelev    
47 Leymus yiunensus N.R. Cui & D.F. Cui